Executive Directors

Michelle HaywardMichelle Hayward

Michelle Hayward, Executive Director of Elementary/Middle School

Michelle Hayward joined Fayetteville Public Schools in 2005 as the principal of McNair Middle School, where she has led the school to national recognition as a National Middle School to Watch in 2009, 2012, and 2015, as well as being the recipient of the Shannon Wright Award as the Arkansas Middle School of the Year. Under her leadership McNair Middle School has consistently been recognized for excellence by the Arkansas Department of Education’s performance rewards, the NCEA/ACT High Performance Awards, and the University of Arkansas Office of Educational Policy awards, being named first in the state in English Language Arts scores. 

She earned a bachelor’s degree in science from Arkansas Tech University, a master’s degree in educational leadership from the University of Central Arkansas, and received her educational specialist’s degree in central office administration from Arkansas State University. Hayward is currently pursuing her doctorate. 

Prior to joining Fayetteville Public Schools, Hayward served as an elementary principal in school districts in Prairie Grove, Danville, Belleville, and Briggsville, Arkansas, and has nine years of experience as a classroom teacher.


Mark Oesterle
Mark Oesterle

Dr. Mark Oesterle, Executive Director of Secondary Education

Dr. Mark Oesterle joined FPS in August of 2016. He previously served as an administrator for the Don Tyson School of Innovation in the Springdale School District, a position he held from 2014 to 2016. He earned a bachelor’s degree in art from the University of California, a master’s degree in education from Arizona State University, and a doctor of philosophy in educational leadership and policy studies from Arizona State University. 

Prior to serving at the School of Innovation, Oesterle served as a senior program specialist at the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching in Santa Monica, California, associate superintendent for curriculum, instruction, and assessment in the Littleton School District in Avondale, Arizona, and as a principal for thirteen years in the Deer Valley Unified School District in Phoenix, Arizona. He has also served as an adjunct professor at Arizona State University, as well as a classroom teacher at both the elementary and secondary level.


Dr. Chad Scott, Executive Director of Student Services
Chad Scott

Dr. Chad Scott, Executive Director of Student Services

Dr. Chad Scott served as the principal of Fayetteville High School for the 2015-16 and 2016-17 school years. Previously, he served as principal and assistant principal at Bentonville High School, and as an assistant principal for the Springdale Public Schools. Dr. Scott received his bachelor's degree in journalism from the University of Texas at Arlington, a master's degree in educational administration from Texas A&M University-Commerce, and his doctorate in educational administration from the University of Arkansas.

The Executive Director of Student Services will work closely with Associate Superintendent Dr. Larry Ben, creating and implementing plans to increase the graduation rate, decrease the dropout rate, improve daily attendance, and investigate better ways to address student discipline, including suspension and expulsion procedures, and assist with crisis planning. The executive director will also monitor on-track indicators for student success and assist in closing the achievement gap.